Classification of Hotels on the basis of Star System

Classification of Hotels on the basis of Star System

In India Classification of Hotels on the basis of Star System is given by central government committee (HRACC) the member of HRACC include

  • Officials from central and state Tourism ministry
  • Member of FHRAI
  • Member of HAI
  • Member of IATO
  • Member of TAAI
  • Principals of IHM
  • Member of IHHA

Above all HRACC members categories hotels into star rated hotels (one star to five star delux & Heritage hotels.)

One Star Hotel –

These properties are small and independently owned with family Atmosphere. Services may be provided by the owner and the owner’s family on an informal basis.

Lunch for example may not be served, some bedrooms may not have an en suite bath/shower.

Maintainace, cleanliness and comfort should however always be of an acceptable standard.


Two Star Hotel –

In this class, hotels will be typically small- to medium-sized and offer more extensive facilities than the one-star level. Some business hotels come into the two-star classification.

In two star hotel Reception and other staff look more professional compare to one star hotel.

Three Star Hotel –

At this level, hotels are usually of a size to support higher staffing levels as well as a significantly higher quality and range of facilities than at the lower star classification. Reception and the other public areas will be more spacious and the restaurant will normally also cater to non-residents.

Four Star Hotel –

Expectations at this level include a degree of luxury as well as quality in the furnishings, décor, and equipment in every area of the hotel.

Bedrooms will also usually offer more space than at the lower star levels. They will be well designed, with coordinated furnishings and décor.


Five Star Hotels –

These offer spacious and luxurious accommodations throughout the hotel, matching the best international standards. The interior design should impress with its quality and attention to detail, comfort, and elegance.

A five star hotel must have a minimum 25 rooms. The facilities that must be present in a five star are divided into three Categories: Essential, necessary and desirable.

The hotel must have all the essential facilities, two failures are allowed in the case of necessary facilities and desirable facilities need not be all fulfilled.

Essential facilities include

  • A bath tube or shower cubicle sockets for electric shavers and 24 hours hot and cold water supply in every bathroom.
  • A 24-hour coffee shop
  • Twenty-four room service
  • Two or more speciality restaurants
  • A bar
  • Centrally air-conditioned rooms
  • A swimming pool
  • Television and channel list
  • A health club
  • Laundry service
  • Conference rooms
  • Guestrooms telephones with international trunk dialling facilities.
  • Carpeted floors
  • Fire-fighting arrangements



We’d love to keep you updated with our latest news and offers 😎


1 thought on “Classification of Hotels on the basis of Star System”

  1. Pingback: Classification of Hotel - Good Cheer

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *